Categories
Word 2016

How To Not Share Comments Or Changes in Word

I am sure a lot, if not all of you, know what a robust tool Track Changes is in Word. It is also a good editing tool because it will show you the changes made in a document over a period of time. Of course, there is also another Word tool – Comments. It allows you to insert comments in your document for any reason or no reason. You may not want to share your changes or comments with your colleagues or to even print documents that may contain these sort of edits though.

Fortunately, there is a way that you can double check to be certain this does not happen.

Follow the steps below to learn how:

  1. On your Ribbon, click File | Options.
  2. At the left-hand side, click Trust Center.
  3. Click Trust Center Settings to display the Trust Center dialog box.
  4. On the left, click Privacy Options.

trust-center

  1. Be certain the Warn Before Printing, Saving, or Sending a File That Contains Tracked Changes or Comments has been selected.
  2. Click on OK to close the Trust Center.
  3. Click Cancel to close the Word Options dialog box.

There is a Caveat though!  Selecting this option will only show warning if you  e-mail your document using the menu options in Word. If you close Word and then send your document as an attachment to an e-mail, no warning will be provided!